800 Switchback® Assault® 144

800 Switchback® Assault® 144 Reviews

2018 800 Switchback Assault® 144 is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 179.
  • y_2017, m_12, d_13, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_179
  • loc_en_US, sid_S18EEC8PSA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_snowmobile
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great job Polaris I purchased this sled as a snow check. Polaris finally made a rock solid outstanding performing 800. No worries regarding durability and the performance from the 800 motor is more than capable to say the least. Throttle response, clutching, and driveability are spot on and top of the 800 class. I had my doubts with Polaris 800 engines of past, but this 800 engine and axys chassis combination paired together are just amazing. The performance, ride, and handling are second to none! Great job Polaris! Now let's see a new 600 engine based on this 800 mill!!!!
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most fun I had in 15 years! This is my first Polaris snowmobile and the Assault has exceeded my expectations in every category. First being able to build the sled that I wanted; color, track, engine, accessories, etc. is second to none. I bought this for trail riding, and it is the most fun I've ever had on a sled. The 800 motor is so responsive and will wheelie at any speed which makes it a blast to ride coming hard out of corners or launching over bumps or hills on the trail. My friends are amazed how this package works. It is so light and balanced it makes riding a breeze. I'm no longer sore after riding 200 mile days other than my face after smiling all day! The seating position is perfect for me and was a big reason why I purchased this sled. The IGX rear suspension and the Axys chassis is a perfect combination and could be the best sled Polaris has ever built!
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Rounded Machine Snow checked in April of 2016. This machine is the first Polaris I have ever owned. It is one sharp looking sled. The sled has great power. The clutching is spot on and is just plain fun. The suspension is very capable. Smooth yet has the ability to soak up monster shots. I wish Polaris had offered choice in skis during snow check, as I immediately had to upgrade the pro-steer skis. Bolt on OEM ice scratchers would have been such a nice addition. Overall I am very happy with my purchase and am still trying to learn Polaris snowmobiles.
Date published: 2017-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best of all worlds! This is the second Switchback Assault I've owned, the improvements on the 2017 Switchback Assault are exactly what it needed. The Axys chassis and the new 800 engine makes this the most enjoyable sled I've owned. The changes made to the controls were a huge improvement too. We mostly ride trails to get to the powder and on trail this sled is effortless and in the powder it's like the sled knows what you want to do! This sled rocks!
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Another Polaris.... I bought this sled and currently been 14xx Miles.... Has been in the shop 3 times for multiple issues....Been buying Polaris products my whole life and the last few years have been nothing but issues
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply Awesome Bought this for my wife and daughters and now we all fight for who gets to ride it. Comfort, handling, acceleration are all beyond any other sled I have ridden. This sled goes where you want it to. My youngest daughter is 12 and she handles it easily. It's made her more confident and as a result she and my wife now want to ride more, which was my goal for getting it in the first place. Couldn't be happier at this point.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from assault I am happy with the snowmachine so far. I have not put a lot of miles on it yet, but it appears to be a nice engine package and suspension. I really like the track length and acceleration. The bar height and running boards are spot on. One complaint would be that shocks should have rebound control for rider to dial in ride further. A clip on second seat would be a nice accessory to justify sled to family members.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This sled is a beast! I received my sled in November. Finally got enough snow to get through the break in. The performance exceeded my expectations. It rips in the deep powder or on a trail (2" paddle). Unable to get it stuck...power lifts skis over anything. Only complaint is updating ryder-x on PIDD. Followed instructions, but date always shows old date. No trails loaded for Alaska that I can find...have to use cell phone to navigate. One recommendation would be wider skis like the prior year models came with (at least on the 2" paddle/deeper snow version).
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 17 SBA Love it huge improvement over last assault sb very impressed. Which it had ice scratcher options with out drilling
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best Polaris snowmobile I've owned yet. After only 500 miles on my new Switchback Assault I knew this was my favorite new Polaris snowmobile yet, out of the 28 I've owned through the years, (25 of which were Polaris). The 600 is a sweetheart of an engine and pulls strong, similar to my 2007 Switchback Cleanfire, only more refined, quieter and more powerful. The Cobra track hooks up well and I absolutely love the LED headlights.
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Black Pearl SBA Overall I absolutely love the 17 SBA 800. The engine has plenty of grin making power and can lift the ski's on demand. The clutching is spot on for a crossover sled and the seating position is perfect. The suspension is extremely stiff so I had to set every shock/spring combo to full soft otherwise the ride was bumpy. Rider weight is 160 geared up so I should probably go with lighter springs both up front and in the rear, but I don't want to make any changes until I get 500-600 miles on the sled and give the suspension time to break in and take a set. The biggest pitfalls with this sled are the handlebars and the under seat bag. The sweep or downward bend on the ends of the bars hurt your wrists at full turn while navigating inside corners. (I liked the Pro Tapers on the previous assault better) and the under seat bag could be a little longer and coated with a waterproof material where it sits on tunnel. (It absorbs melting snow and your stuff gets wet) Pros: Power on demand, Good handling on rough trail, Good handling off trail, Predictable, Very comfortable seating position. Cons: Colder ride than expected, Handle bar sweep, There is no easy way to mount ice scratchers to the rear suspension rails, the contents in the under seat bag get wet.
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Real Truth I Snow checked the SB Assault to have the true dual purpose sled in my garage. Love the spring order options, colors, windshields, storage options etc. I would love to have more track options available. Hint a 1.6 Cobra would be a good middle ground option. On trail performance after the suspension was reset to the lightest settings and adjusting the handle bars to my preference, became a very capable, fun and engaging sled that can handle all types of trails at 95% of what my 16 Pro-S Switchback is capable of. The SB Assault 144 can corner like a 129 or 136 long skid. Hats off to the Polaris AXYS chassis and rider balanced positioning. This sled easily validates the claim that rider position balancing works and its not just a slick marketing catch phrase for the media to write about. Off trail this sled performs at a extremely high level that leaves a smile on your face and looking for new situations to challenge myself. The SB Assault can adapt to any trail or off trail conditions that I have encountered so far this year. I have had the opportunity to ride this sled in two to three feet of fresh snow this season courtesy of the generous lake Ontario lake effect snowfall . The deep snow performance of the SB Assault was amazing and opened up riding places that the "normal" so called cross over sleds could not effectively handle. Friends and fellow riders that have test rode this sled, come back astonished and full of positive adjectives on what they experienced. The grins and body movements truly tell the story of how they enjoyed this sled. They see the virtues of having not to compromise or have to have two sleds to accomplish all riding situations that come during a riding season. The SB Assault 144 is the Swiss Army knife of the snowmobile industry! Wish list items, suggestions and gripes. 1) Add other track options during spring order other than just the 1.3" or 2.0" options. 2) Offer a 600cc HO engine variation that has the light weight crank, V Force reeds, Electronic variable exhaust valve. This is not a price point sled and I do not want to jump up to the 800cc class engine. The proportional increase in torque and HP along with the better efficiency would be interesting. 3) Handle bar heaters that have more range than hot or almost warm. The first setting is almost worthless and the high setting can be too hot on days in the 20 degrees F and above. 4) Why are the forward chassis spars going from the steering post to bulkhead built of aluminum and not carbon fiber as the AXYS Pro S & X variations? 5) In my opinion the base line suspension calibrations are too stiff. Having the ability to adjust to stiffer rates should be dialed in by the owner based on his or her weight, riding style or conditions. Rather than have high spring rates and shock valve coding starting out on full stun, back this off 30% and adjust to firmer settings if warranted. Yes the shocks are adjustable but I have found that the lowest setting seems to work best. I rather be able to dial the shock settings up firmer rather than having no place to go lower to get more ride compliance. Thank you for taking the time to read this and allow other owners to give input to help shape the future products. Overall the SB Assault is a stellar snowmobile! Best regards, Karl
Date published: 2017-02-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great overall riding position New motor very strong (mid range especially). Gripper skis may have been a better stock ski. Hand warmers seem to cycle to often (really hot then cold, don't seem consistent). Recoil handle rattles pretty bad at normal trail speeds (30-40mph). LED headlight is amazing. Rapid engine warmup great addition. Feel a lot of impact through handlebar over big bumps and large hits.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Top End issues The sled NOW works perfect - lighter torsion springs and a 1" ice attak track makes this almost as good as a Pro S. It is now my ultimate trail machine - i did the same to my 2014 Assault i had. Love them. This new engine is strong and smooth - but does have some surging and gasping issues near top end...i have 3 of them (all 2016 and 2017) ...two of the three have issues.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great sled. Unfortunalty i blew it up :( I bought this sled a month and half ago. Sled performed amazing. Great snap and super comfortable to drive. Unfortunately after 800 miles my engine blew up. The dealership has been great in looking after me, and should have me back on the snow within a weeks time. I should mention this is the first failure I have experienced in owning Polaris sleds over the past 15 years.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best sled out I love my Assualt very fun to ride and very fast. Beats all the skidoo 800s. Best off and on trail sled a person can get wouldn't trade it for anything love it.
Date published: 2017-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Ride I traded in an RMK for this Assault and it was a good decision. The RMK was a great sled and they work well in the mountains, but for me personally perhaps was bit too much for the typical conditions we have up in the UP when I often need to ride many miles of trail to get to deep backcountry snow. The Assault has proven to truly be a true all around sled.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Looking Sled but... This is a beautiful sled! Great low end power & love how the 1.3 Cobra track hooks up. Negatives: very average handling on trail along with poor turning & lack of "flickability" in the deep mountain snow. However, it climbs & jumps like a beast! Ride an average of 1800 miles per season, 1/2 in MN & 1/2 in mountains. Going to try an SKS next time.
Date published: 2017-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best of Both Worlds Polaris 500 My first 500 miles, Always had short track sleds mostly for trail riding but I keep finding myself wanting to go off trail and play in the deep snow so I purchased a crossover and was not disappointed at all, you get the best of both worlds carves and handles the trails with the best of them then will let you go where most wont dear
Date published: 2017-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the new motor Upgraded from my 2014 switchback assault 800 to the new motor and new chassis. Extremely happy with the response of the new motor and the upgradEd features. I wasn't thrilled about the handlebar change however. While some were happy to see a 45 hook as opposed to the previous 90, I wasn't comfortable with the new bars. I also found them a little short but I am 6'1 so I added 2" to the riser. I was happy with the new seat at first. Trail riding was a little more enjoyable with a comfortable seat. Once I took this sled to the mountains I quickly changed my mind. I immediately missed my 2014 narrow seat. My knees were always interfering with the large triangular shape of the seat and after 5 days of stand up riding the backs and fronts of my knees were tender and sore. That being said, these are minor flaws in an otherwise amazing snowmobile. Very capable on and off trail and the weight and response of the snowmbile is the best in its category.
Date published: 2017-02-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great overall sled Great all around sled for both trail and some off trail. Wish it was a little more nimble off trail but we mostly ride trails anyway. Love the sled but don't love the rebates Polaris came out with in February that devalued my barely used sled $4,000! Polaris, would you like to buy my sled back from me so I am not losing this amount of money?
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better on Trail than expected. Snowchecked the 2017 Switchback Assault, coming off of a 2012 Snowcheck Switchback ProR. With the Axis platform and new rear suspension it handles the trails and corners with ease, actually better than my last 137". Have not done any serious off trail, but the small amount I rode, it did great. The 800 has great power and throttle response.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Igx The ride is stiff from the start. Just need 500 miles to break suspension in and tweak it to your riding style from there. After that, it's the best suspension out there!!! Off the chart . The motor pulls nice. Just needs some fine tuning with cvt system and gearing. With all this, the package is great and hard to beat. Great 50/50 sled
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Sled on the Market forTrue on trail/off trail Great Sled! I had a 2015 Switchback Pro S prior to this sled and am very pleased with the performance of the Switchback Assualt. I feel that it is very comparable to the Pro S on the trail and is MUCH superior off trail. The suspension is excellent with good compliance yet still retaining the ability to absorb big hits without bottoming.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent overall performance I snowchecked this new Switchback Assault 800 and am very impressed with the overall package. I have a 2016 SKS 800 and a 2015 AXYS Switchback 800 ProS to compare it to. I had a 2012 Switchback Assault and was not happy with the rear suspesion.The new IGX works great and in the Axys chassis it has awesome overall performance.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing Sled I Snow check this sled and have 1100 miles on it now. Coming off a 137 Switchback to this I was a little skeptical what it would be like on the trails.... Well lets just say carves corners, handles bumps and whoops with ease!! Works well off trail too been in 4 feet of snow and no worries just point and go.. Love it!!
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New to Polaris This year, I have rode the sled approx. 1,400 miles. At first the ride quality felt a little stiff, but now with a few minor suspension adjustments, the ride quality is much improved. Very light and responsive machine that stays flat in the corners. This is the my first Polaris and it meets all of my expectations.
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite poo yet The 17 assault is just a great all around , clamp the fun flipper ,skis up, While hammering through the ruff stuff , the more you push it, one appreciates the sleds responsiveness, stability, and fun factor, yet if wish to rip through tight trails the assault handles great , Good job and thanks Roseau
Date published: 2017-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good all around seld the sled has good power ,handles well and the rear suspension is much improved over my last SBA, gas millage is about equal with my Arctic Cat XF-800, but the oil consumption is just HORRIABLE, 30:1 ratio is the worse I've ever seen in all my sleds I've owned, I've owned 19 Arctic cats and 2 polaris
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The "ULTIMATE" crossover I snow checked my 2017 800 Switchback Assault 144 and I have to say I am totally impressed with the ride and performance. This sled has a power band that is exceptional. Hats off to Polaris for the the AXYS chasis. Looking forward to putting some serious miles on my sled this winter.
Date published: 2017-02-15
  • y_2017, m_12, d_13, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_179
  • loc_en_US, sid_S18EEC8PSA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_snowmobile
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 171ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Back to top TOP