600 Switchback® Assault® 144

600 Switchback® Assault® 144 Reviews

2019 600 Switchback Assault SC Select is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 291.
  • y_2018, m_4, d_20, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_291
  • loc_en_US, sid_S19EEC6PS, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_snowmobile
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best of Both Worlds Polaris 500 My first 500 miles, Always had short track sleds mostly for trail riding but I keep finding myself wanting to go off trail and play in the deep snow so I purchased a crossover and was not disappointed at all, you get the best of both worlds carves and handles the trails with the best of them then will let you go where most wont dear
Date published: 2017-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the new motor Upgraded from my 2014 switchback assault 800 to the new motor and new chassis. Extremely happy with the response of the new motor and the upgradEd features. I wasn't thrilled about the handlebar change however. While some were happy to see a 45 hook as opposed to the previous 90, I wasn't comfortable with the new bars. I also found them a little short but I am 6'1 so I added 2" to the riser. I was happy with the new seat at first. Trail riding was a little more enjoyable with a comfortable seat. Once I took this sled to the mountains I quickly changed my mind. I immediately missed my 2014 narrow seat. My knees were always interfering with the large triangular shape of the seat and after 5 days of stand up riding the backs and fronts of my knees were tender and sore. That being said, these are minor flaws in an otherwise amazing snowmobile. Very capable on and off trail and the weight and response of the snowmbile is the best in its category.
Date published: 2017-02-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great overall sled Great all around sled for both trail and some off trail. Wish it was a little more nimble off trail but we mostly ride trails anyway. Love the sled but don't love the rebates Polaris came out with in February that devalued my barely used sled $4,000! Polaris, would you like to buy my sled back from me so I am not losing this amount of money?
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better on Trail than expected. Snowchecked the 2017 Switchback Assault, coming off of a 2012 Snowcheck Switchback ProR. With the Axis platform and new rear suspension it handles the trails and corners with ease, actually better than my last 137". Have not done any serious off trail, but the small amount I rode, it did great. The 800 has great power and throttle response.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Igx The ride is stiff from the start. Just need 500 miles to break suspension in and tweak it to your riding style from there. After that, it's the best suspension out there!!! Off the chart . The motor pulls nice. Just needs some fine tuning with cvt system and gearing. With all this, the package is great and hard to beat. Great 50/50 sled
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent overall performance I snowchecked this new Switchback Assault 800 and am very impressed with the overall package. I have a 2016 SKS 800 and a 2015 AXYS Switchback 800 ProS to compare it to. I had a 2012 Switchback Assault and was not happy with the rear suspesion.The new IGX works great and in the Axys chassis it has awesome overall performance.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing Sled I Snow check this sled and have 1100 miles on it now. Coming off a 137 Switchback to this I was a little skeptical what it would be like on the trails.... Well lets just say carves corners, handles bumps and whoops with ease!! Works well off trail too been in 4 feet of snow and no worries just point and go.. Love it!!
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New to Polaris This year, I have rode the sled approx. 1,400 miles. At first the ride quality felt a little stiff, but now with a few minor suspension adjustments, the ride quality is much improved. Very light and responsive machine that stays flat in the corners. This is the my first Polaris and it meets all of my expectations.
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Sled Snow checked this sled and couldn't be happier. It is a absolute blast to ride on the trails and you can't wipe the smile off my face in the deep snow. If you are looking for a fun, light sled to play on then this might be just for you. The 800 pulls the ski's off the ground at will and gets decent fuel mileage.
Date published: 2018-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome sled I have been snowmobiling for over 30 years and I have owned a lot of snowmobiles and this is without a doubt the most amazing snowmobile I have yet to throw a leg over.the ride and handling is amazing, it's such a effortless machine to ride.the power is unreal , when I ride this sled I feel like a kid again.
Date published: 2018-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite poo yet The 17 assault is just a great all around , clamp the fun flipper ,skis up, While hammering through the ruff stuff , the more you push it, one appreciates the sleds responsiveness, stability, and fun factor, yet if wish to rip through tight trails the assault handles great , Good job and thanks Roseau
Date published: 2017-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good all around seld the sled has good power ,handles well and the rear suspension is much improved over my last SBA, gas millage is about equal with my Arctic Cat XF-800, but the oil consumption is just HORRIABLE, 30:1 ratio is the worse I've ever seen in all my sleds I've owned, I've owned 19 Arctic cats and 2 polaris
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The "ULTIMATE" crossover I snow checked my 2017 800 Switchback Assault 144 and I have to say I am totally impressed with the ride and performance. This sled has a power band that is exceptional. Hats off to Polaris for the the AXYS chasis. Looking forward to putting some serious miles on my sled this winter.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Polaris crossover ever built Thank you for building a crossover that dominates on and off the trail. This sled was a long time coming but worth the wait. Rides like a trail sled, corners like it on rails and is a blast in the deep snow. I'm glad somebody got the fit and finish back to where it should be.
Date published: 2017-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everything I hoped and more Not gonna lie I was an arctic cat guy my whole life and after not having a sled for a few years I randomly purchased this sled on impulse and I don't regret it one bit.. the power to weight ratio is amazing .. such a nimble sled.. surprises me every ride I'm very impressed!!
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great handleing Great sled, very happy with the purchase. I traded in a 2016 550 voyager for this sled. The 600 cc has such great power. Burns less oil and fuel. Trail riding characteristics are so much better. The new axys chassis handles like nothing I've ever ridin.
Date published: 2017-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this sled I am very happy with my sled purchase over all. Only comments are that I would have like to be able to choose gripper skis at the time of snowcheck instead of having to buy them from the dealer. I am not able to get anything for my pro steer skis.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This should be the sled of the year Set up with the 2" Track and Split Rail SkisThis sled goes absolutely anywhere you want to go off trail while still having a phenomenal trail ride! Great on fuel and gas, lots of storage options. I switched from Ski-doo to polaris for this machine.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best sled I've ever been on! Sled is awesome on the trail handles very well and is just as good breaking trail or playing in the powder.
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definite upgrade from the pro chassis Everything is great on the sled except I miss my pro taper bars that were on the pro chassis assault switchback. Having the controls on the handlebars is great but the narrow and shorter hight of the new pro taper bars is not easy to handle.
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Features I enjoy the height of the seat to ease the stiff knees I used to get. Very responsive. Instant power when I want it. Very maneuverable . I do miss having mirrors . I'll have to look at the options. I just need to get more miles on it.
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 144 Assault '17 A great sled, true crossover! Handles like it's on rails on the trails and is very flickable in the deep. My only issue is the mapping system on the new display. An absolute nightmare trying to download and update the trails!!!!!!
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Crossover I've put 1,300 miles on it and I love it. The only items to change would be to offer a 1.5" track and also somehow make the rear shock adjustment easier to get to. It is impossible to adjust trailside. A major design flaw IMO.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 800 switch back assault I have 1154 miles on this sled and it is the best sled money can buy for a cross over it does everything so well from deep snow hard trails i can't think of one thing I would change on this sled
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handles Great! Bought my Switchback Assault in mid January. The snow conditions haven't been great so haven't had a chance to REALLY try it out. Notice a huge difference in how the sled handles and how comfortable it is to ride.
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME SLED i always had short track sleds for over 25 years then decide to buy a 2018 AXYS 800 SB assault 144 with a 1.6 cobra track . this is the first long track sled i ever bought or rode and i love it, just like the way it feels and rides so smooth and comfortable and that motor rips.very fast . on trail it feels like a 121". i like that it takes 2 seconds to open the panel to check oil levels and belt. i always have my son with me, so the stiffer shocks are nice on bumpy trail or playing in the snow which we love to do. for me there`s a minor things for my riding style that i would change, but all and all this machine is awesome , just wish they would make a bump seat or passenger pad as an accessories instead of the big bulky up seat. this sled is 10/10 for me. never going back to a short track.
Date published: 2018-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from About as close to perfection that you can get! Where to begin? I should start out by saying that I have been around racing snowmobiles all of my life since the days of USSA in the Junior III class oval, ice drags, asphalt drags, snow-cross. I Snow Checked the 800 Assault and now have about 900 miles in the saddle. Arm-wrenching acceleration, with tremendous transfer ability under acceleration and then pure predictability carving the corners up in the woods and on the trail, handling like it was on a set of rails. I swapped sleds with my friend who rides a 2016 Cat 9000 El Tigre. Not even in the same realm, couldn't get my sled back fast enough! What more could anyone want in a snowmobile? Speed, acceleration, light weight, transfer, ride, handling, ergonomics, comfort, reliability, fuel mileage, low oil consumption, and did I mention looks? This sled is bad-... looking all black! I have owned, and or ridden all of the brands you find on the market today, and I can honestly say this is the finest snowmobile I have ever ridden or owned, hands down! Bravo to the engineers at Polaris, you are finally back on top where you should be!
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Machine Bought this machine 1/2 way through the season. What a great machine. This is a joy to ride and I just love it. I would recommend this machine to anybody trail or off trail riders alike. Love it!
Date published: 2017-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from suspension compliance. when I traded in my 2015 switchback pro s. I was Leary as to whether the assault would ride as nice as my pro s . so far I have been pleasantly surprised at the front track shock ride compliance.
Date published: 2018-02-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome Ride My wife and I have purchased 10 new Polaris snowmobiles since 1993 and this sled has the best fit and finish and user friendly features thus far. What remains to be seen will be the durability?
Date published: 2017-02-16
  • y_2018, m_4, d_20, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_291
  • loc_en_US, sid_S19EEC6PS, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_snowmobile
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 218ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Back to top TOP