600 Switchback® Assault® 144

600 Switchback® Assault® 144 Reviews

2019 600 Switchback Assault SC Select is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 291.
  • y_2018, m_5, d_18, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_291
  • loc_en_US, sid_S19EEC6PS, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_snowmobile
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 15ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: Execution timed out, exceeded 500ms;
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great overall sled Amazing all around sled. Needs better adjustable rear shocks with rebound adjustment as it lacks in rough conditions without it, or at least the option to upgrade because the stockers are poor. Front suspension is incredible. Off trail and on trail capabilities are both excellent. Stock ski’s tend to be on the very conservative side when it comes to agressive design. Would like to see an alternative like ski doo now offers. Over a great sled..planning to spring order again this year but might go a different route if better rear shocks aren’t offered in the IGX..it has great potential.
Date published: 2018-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Increadable sled More options for snowchecking like colour, and track size make it a sled that your probably not going to find in your neibours garage too. The ride on the sled is great it pulls harder than the pro r’s. The hood pops off with no tools, and with a nice spare belt and spare spark plug holder. The LED lights are much brighter. The only thing ive noticed is that you sit higher on this sled than the pro r’s which makes it a little colder ride with a similar size windshield. The fuel milage at 17mpg is awesome. Which makes for excellent long distance rides. With poor snow conditions this year i havent ridden it in deep snow yet but im looking forward to it when it comes! I would buy this sled again!
Date published: 2018-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Sled I have ever owned! This is the first new sled I have purchased since 1999. With school and a professional career, I got away from snowmobiling. I was always a Polaris ATV guy but never owned a Polaris sled. We had a local Arctic Cat dealer in the town I grew up in and just always bought Arctic Cat sleds. Test rode all of the comparable models and settled on the 800 Assault. First trip was out to Bottineau, ND, and the sled performed beyond my expectations. Super smooth, plenty of hp, and simply an awesome machine!
Date published: 2017-02-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great on & off trail sled I ride northern Wi & the U.P. If your looking for a sled that rips on the trails and floats thru the powder this sled is it.
Date published: 2018-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 17 SBA Love it huge improvement over last assault sb very impressed. Which it had ice scratcher options with out drilling
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING RIDE. I snowed checked this sled in April,And i wasn't sure about the colors i picked(founder's edition). My sled turn's more heads when pass people in the trail's.It is the FAR BEST SLED Polaris has built. It dose everything it said it would in reviews. Im so glad i picked my colors,wouldn't change it.I don't have enough time or space on what to say about it. (I LOVE IT).Plus Town & Country Polaris In N Conway Is the best dealership around.I live 2 1/2 Hrs away from the dealer,But its worth every minute of the ride to deal with Dainelle Day the owner of it.She is the best by far..
Date published: 2018-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Sled on the Market forTrue on trail/off trail Great Sled! I had a 2015 Switchback Pro S prior to this sled and am very pleased with the performance of the Switchback Assualt. I feel that it is very comparable to the Pro S on the trail and is MUCH superior off trail. The suspension is excellent with good compliance yet still retaining the ability to absorb big hits without bottoming.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not a bad sled Spring check model and the first Polaris I ever rode or even rode with. Engine and clutching is very smooth and well balanced. I like the 144 for cross over reasons but the valving is way to stiff. Also my biggest gripe is the seat is too wide. But all in all its a decent sled, but still not sure if it's one I want to keep.
Date published: 2017-02-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun sled 2017 assault 800, fun sled lots of power and easy to ride for a tall guy like myself. Was comfortable most the time. Only issue I have is I missed out on 4 days of riding in northern ontario because my sled blew a plug clean out of the motor head. Left side. And a few other 2017 assaults 800 that my friends own did the same. We got an excuse from the dealer that it wouldn't be warrantied. Wasnt happy about that and had to settle for their fix instead of a new warrantied head.
Date published: 2017-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great job Polaris I purchased this sled as a snow check. Polaris finally made a rock solid outstanding performing 800. No worries regarding durability and the performance from the 800 motor is more than capable to say the least. Throttle response, clutching, and driveability are spot on and top of the 800 class. I had my doubts with Polaris 800 engines of past, but this 800 engine and axys chassis combination paired together are just amazing. The performance, ride, and handling are second to none! Great job Polaris! Now let's see a new 600 engine based on this 800 mill!!!!
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most fun I had in 15 years! This is my first Polaris snowmobile and the Assault has exceeded my expectations in every category. First being able to build the sled that I wanted; color, track, engine, accessories, etc. is second to none. I bought this for trail riding, and it is the most fun I've ever had on a sled. The 800 motor is so responsive and will wheelie at any speed which makes it a blast to ride coming hard out of corners or launching over bumps or hills on the trail. My friends are amazed how this package works. It is so light and balanced it makes riding a breeze. I'm no longer sore after riding 200 mile days other than my face after smiling all day! The seating position is perfect for me and was a big reason why I purchased this sled. The IGX rear suspension and the Axys chassis is a perfect combination and could be the best sled Polaris has ever built!
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Rounded Machine Snow checked in April of 2016. This machine is the first Polaris I have ever owned. It is one sharp looking sled. The sled has great power. The clutching is spot on and is just plain fun. The suspension is very capable. Smooth yet has the ability to soak up monster shots. I wish Polaris had offered choice in skis during snow check, as I immediately had to upgrade the pro-steer skis. Bolt on OEM ice scratchers would have been such a nice addition. Overall I am very happy with my purchase and am still trying to learn Polaris snowmobiles.
Date published: 2017-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best of all worlds! This is the second Switchback Assault I've owned, the improvements on the 2017 Switchback Assault are exactly what it needed. The Axys chassis and the new 800 engine makes this the most enjoyable sled I've owned. The changes made to the controls were a huge improvement too. We mostly ride trails to get to the powder and on trail this sled is effortless and in the powder it's like the sled knows what you want to do! This sled rocks!
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Another Polaris.... I bought this sled and currently been 14xx Miles.... Has been in the shop 3 times for multiple issues....Been buying Polaris products my whole life and the last few years have been nothing but issues
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply Awesome Bought this for my wife and daughters and now we all fight for who gets to ride it. Comfort, handling, acceleration are all beyond any other sled I have ridden. This sled goes where you want it to. My youngest daughter is 12 and she handles it easily. It's made her more confident and as a result she and my wife now want to ride more, which was my goal for getting it in the first place. Couldn't be happier at this point.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from assault I am happy with the snowmachine so far. I have not put a lot of miles on it yet, but it appears to be a nice engine package and suspension. I really like the track length and acceleration. The bar height and running boards are spot on. One complaint would be that shocks should have rebound control for rider to dial in ride further. A clip on second seat would be a nice accessory to justify sled to family members.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This sled is a beast! I received my sled in November. Finally got enough snow to get through the break in. The performance exceeded my expectations. It rips in the deep powder or on a trail (2" paddle). Unable to get it stuck...power lifts skis over anything. Only complaint is updating ryder-x on PIDD. Followed instructions, but date always shows old date. No trails loaded for Alaska that I can find...have to use cell phone to navigate. One recommendation would be wider skis like the prior year models came with (at least on the 2" paddle/deeper snow version).
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the Sled! I have over 1000 miles so far this winter. Hard to decide which sled to ride. 'Other sled is a 2017 Pro-S Switchback'
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best Polaris snowmobile I've owned yet. After only 500 miles on my new Switchback Assault I knew this was my favorite new Polaris snowmobile yet, out of the 28 I've owned through the years, (25 of which were Polaris). The 600 is a sweetheart of an engine and pulls strong, similar to my 2007 Switchback Cleanfire, only more refined, quieter and more powerful. The Cobra track hooks up well and I absolutely love the LED headlights.
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You get what you pay for This sled wants to kill you. It's looks angry and mean, and when you open up the tap, it goes like a Saturn 5 rocket. Be confident when you squeeze the throttle, because it is like a hyperspace button. All of that is of course in terms of power. Want some? Well guess what, it's there, because the moment you hit the throttle lever hard, it just wants to wheelie (catwalk). By no means is there an acceleration or power shortage. In other areas, it's phenomenal on and off trail. When riding in the backcountry, if you point it where you want to go it'll take you there without hesitation. And getting stuck? Is that still a thing? If you get stuck in Ontario weather, I'm assuming you haven't ridden off trail ever before. You won't get stuck, because if you even have little to normal experience, it won't trench you out under the power lines. Not if you know what you're doing. Amazing sled. My rate is 10/10.
Date published: 2017-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best sled out I love my Assualt very fun to ride and very fast. Beats all the skidoo 800s. Best off and on trail sled a person can get wouldn't trade it for anything love it.
Date published: 2017-03-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Black Pearl SBA Overall I absolutely love the 17 SBA 800. The engine has plenty of grin making power and can lift the ski's on demand. The clutching is spot on for a crossover sled and the seating position is perfect. The suspension is extremely stiff so I had to set every shock/spring combo to full soft otherwise the ride was bumpy. Rider weight is 160 geared up so I should probably go with lighter springs both up front and in the rear, but I don't want to make any changes until I get 500-600 miles on the sled and give the suspension time to break in and take a set. The biggest pitfalls with this sled are the handlebars and the under seat bag. The sweep or downward bend on the ends of the bars hurt your wrists at full turn while navigating inside corners. (I liked the Pro Tapers on the previous assault better) and the under seat bag could be a little longer and coated with a waterproof material where it sits on tunnel. (It absorbs melting snow and your stuff gets wet) Pros: Power on demand, Good handling on rough trail, Good handling off trail, Predictable, Very comfortable seating position. Cons: Colder ride than expected, Handle bar sweep, There is no easy way to mount ice scratchers to the rear suspension rails, the contents in the under seat bag get wet.
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Real Truth I Snow checked the SB Assault to have the true dual purpose sled in my garage. Love the spring order options, colors, windshields, storage options etc. I would love to have more track options available. Hint a 1.6 Cobra would be a good middle ground option. On trail performance after the suspension was reset to the lightest settings and adjusting the handle bars to my preference, became a very capable, fun and engaging sled that can handle all types of trails at 95% of what my 16 Pro-S Switchback is capable of. The SB Assault 144 can corner like a 129 or 136 long skid. Hats off to the Polaris AXYS chassis and rider balanced positioning. This sled easily validates the claim that rider position balancing works and its not just a slick marketing catch phrase for the media to write about. Off trail this sled performs at a extremely high level that leaves a smile on your face and looking for new situations to challenge myself. The SB Assault can adapt to any trail or off trail conditions that I have encountered so far this year. I have had the opportunity to ride this sled in two to three feet of fresh snow this season courtesy of the generous lake Ontario lake effect snowfall . The deep snow performance of the SB Assault was amazing and opened up riding places that the "normal" so called cross over sleds could not effectively handle. Friends and fellow riders that have test rode this sled, come back astonished and full of positive adjectives on what they experienced. The grins and body movements truly tell the story of how they enjoyed this sled. They see the virtues of having not to compromise or have to have two sleds to accomplish all riding situations that come during a riding season. The SB Assault 144 is the Swiss Army knife of the snowmobile industry! Wish list items, suggestions and gripes. 1) Add other track options during spring order other than just the 1.3" or 2.0" options. 2) Offer a 600cc HO engine variation that has the light weight crank, V Force reeds, Electronic variable exhaust valve. This is not a price point sled and I do not want to jump up to the 800cc class engine. The proportional increase in torque and HP along with the better efficiency would be interesting. 3) Handle bar heaters that have more range than hot or almost warm. The first setting is almost worthless and the high setting can be too hot on days in the 20 degrees F and above. 4) Why are the forward chassis spars going from the steering post to bulkhead built of aluminum and not carbon fiber as the AXYS Pro S & X variations? 5) In my opinion the base line suspension calibrations are too stiff. Having the ability to adjust to stiffer rates should be dialed in by the owner based on his or her weight, riding style or conditions. Rather than have high spring rates and shock valve coding starting out on full stun, back this off 30% and adjust to firmer settings if warranted. Yes the shocks are adjustable but I have found that the lowest setting seems to work best. I rather be able to dial the shock settings up firmer rather than having no place to go lower to get more ride compliance. Thank you for taking the time to read this and allow other owners to give input to help shape the future products. Overall the SB Assault is a stellar snowmobile! Best regards, Karl
Date published: 2017-02-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great overall riding position New motor very strong (mid range especially). Gripper skis may have been a better stock ski. Hand warmers seem to cycle to often (really hot then cold, don't seem consistent). Recoil handle rattles pretty bad at normal trail speeds (30-40mph). LED headlight is amazing. Rapid engine warmup great addition. Feel a lot of impact through handlebar over big bumps and large hits.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Top End issues The sled NOW works perfect - lighter torsion springs and a 1" ice attak track makes this almost as good as a Pro S. It is now my ultimate trail machine - i did the same to my 2014 Assault i had. Love them. This new engine is strong and smooth - but does have some surging and gasping issues near top end...i have 3 of them (all 2016 and 2017) ...two of the three have issues.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great sled. Unfortunalty i blew it up :( I bought this sled a month and half ago. Sled performed amazing. Great snap and super comfortable to drive. Unfortunately after 800 miles my engine blew up. The dealership has been great in looking after me, and should have me back on the snow within a weeks time. I should mention this is the first failure I have experienced in owning Polaris sleds over the past 15 years.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievably better than my 2013 Assault Have a 2013 Switchback Assault which I love and so I sold my 2012 Ski Doo Renegade Backcountry X to buy another Assault. Heard good things about the Axys chassis, but had not tried one until I bought the 2018 Assault. I could not believe how much better the new Assault is relative to the 2013 Assault. The new 800 engine has incredible throttle response, has less engine noise, and is more fuel efficient. The sled itself has less wind noise also, feels like a short track on corners and is just a pleasure to ride. Very impressed!
Date published: 2018-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Ride I traded in an RMK for this Assault and it was a good decision. The RMK was a great sled and they work well in the mountains, but for me personally perhaps was bit too much for the typical conditions we have up in the UP when I often need to ride many miles of trail to get to deep backcountry snow. The Assault has proven to truly be a true all around sled.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best 50/50 Crossover Sled...I'm on my 2nd one! I'm on my second Assault in 2 years. I loved my 2017 so much that I bought a 2018 Assault. After putting on over 3000 miles last season on my '17 Assault, I decided to buy another one for 2018. I'm currently at just over 1700 miles. This is just a great overall snowmobile. I've had to Polaris Rush chassis sleds but could never get them to ride and handle as well as the Switchback Assault. This sled just is amazing. The weight transfer and traction when coming out of a corner is awesome. The fun factor on this sled makes it a blast to ride. The ride is a bit stiff overall. After around 1000 miles, it begins to break in and soften up. I recommend setting all the shocks at 3 clicks from soft. This sled is also fast. It holds it's own on the lakes against bigger CC sleds. Ergonomics are the best in the business. The 2018 Polaris Assault 800 144 is the best snowmobile I've owned to date. And I've owned 30+ snowmobiles in my lifetime!
Date published: 2018-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Motor issues miner but need refined I bought this snowmobile 2 months ago it’s my 4th axys since 2015 ! There is still a rpm issue with these motors . They work awesome when there pulling 8300-8400 rpm but it don’t seem to last & there down to 8000-8150 . Most people don’t notice but I sure do when your down 5-7 hp at 8000 rpm . I don’t even argue with dealer ! I just order rktec pistons & instal them myself . I have 2 axys now 2017 & 2018 . Change pistons in all them & they all pull 8300-8400 rpm . I love the sled other than Polaris pistons . Just my opinion .
Date published: 2018-02-12
  • y_2018, m_5, d_18, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_291
  • loc_en_US, sid_S19EEC6PS, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_snowmobile
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 532ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: Execution timed out, exceeded 500ms;
Back to top TOP