2018 Slingshot® S Gloss Black is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 109.
  • y_2018, m_1, d_18, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_109
  • loc_en_US, sid_T18AASFAAA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_slingshot
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 15ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 4 out of 5 by from On our second machine You fixed several issues from the 15s to the 17s but a few things still need to be addressed. The brake failure light came on in less than 100 miles. Sounds like a common problem. Also you should have a taller stock windshield. The main other thing is it needs more power on the top end. They are a fun machine otherwise. Got 5 year extended warranty on ours so will have this 17 for a while.
Date published: 2017-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Experience - Perfect Addition! Solid performer, great ride experience. The SS continues to impress and it's offers a tremendous new opportunity for my wife and I to share the road together. The open air experience of a motorcycle but with a level of comfort, safety and exhilaration we just didn't get on two wheels. The build quality is excellent and the dealerships have been great at supporting the product. Had an issue with brake sensors however the dealer replaced them during the first service under warranty and no problems since. Looking forward to an upcoming trip to the Smoky Mountains in May!
Date published: 2017-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Ride I traded my Harley Davidson motorcycle for my Slingshot and found it different, but just as much fun and a pleasure to drive. It handles very well and is certainly an attention getter. The reason for the four stars is the brakes. They must be pumped once each time to obtain the full stopping power. The dealership advised that is just the way they are and there is no corrective measure. It's not to bad once you get used to it.
Date published: 2016-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Illegal Thoughts On Every Drive Violent. Rowdy. 50 mph feels like 100 mph. Thunder and growls away from traffic lights. 0-60 in a blink or a sneeze. Difficult to drive really well. Every driver input is transmitted via sound to onlookers, and Everyone is listening to the Sling. Engine programming and drive- by-wire modified GM Canbus tuning is aggressive. Light flywheel needs a smooth right foot in traffic. Throttle response is instant, and not softened with software. Its much easier to start off in second gear, let it ripple and crack up to 4,000 RPM (45 mph) and smoothly slip into third. I've driven a lot of sports cars, and this autocycle tops them all for performance and throwability. Nothing else like it. You can steer with your feet, like any good go-cart. Children crawl out of their car seats for a better look. Smiles and thumbs up everywhere we go. Defensive driving is mandatory, as others will sit in your 7 o'clock and take pix. SS Base, no windscreen, no stereo, F1 full face helmet. 5 point harnesses, because a pilot needs to remain centered. Conversations, cups of tea, and texting are not possible with this much stimuli. Introverts need not apply.
Date published: 2016-09-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Needs help I have had for about 5 months and the steering is sloppy and it makes this whinning noise like a baby on steroids. I do enjoy the ride but for the cost i could have bought a spider that steers and sounds great. I did take it to where i purchased and they said everthing its doing is normal. So i guess sloppy steering and loud whinning is normal. I called my local dealer to have it looked at and they said they didn't have floor space to carry the slingshot so they didn't have to service them. I give a 4 star only because i do like the looks and ride. Other things need improvement. Like dealers need to be educated better on the vehicle they are selling and inform people of things that need to be serviced at a certain point in time and not just a sale as in give me your money and here are your keys, see ya.
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Back to the 60's sports "car" After several moths of kind of adapting to the Slingshot I am now comfortable. I am diabetic with poor feeling in my feet, but now it is a good fit. Actually feel better in it than outside. I have the basic model and perfectly happy with cruising. I have raced cars and it is ok. My electric still runs rings around everyone and wish I had the money to do the conversion - then it would scream beyond turbos. But, at 74 those days are behind me. Still enjoy just taking it out for a ride and enjoying it all. Now if we could get the glitches out of the indicators that would be nice. Those are the only problems I've had, but when you get an indicator that you have a brake failure it is less than comforting even though it has been in for the problem and I know there probably isn't any problem. Electronics !
Date published: 2016-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from freaking amazing & fun Love driving this thing...!!! turns heads and is the coolest thing on the road. Customization and adding a new exhaust was the icing on the cake
Date published: 2016-09-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from More fun than a mere mortal should have. I love driving my Slingshot but I find it very noisy. I put in a nice 4 speaker system, two speakers down low next to the seats and two speakers behind the head rest. This works OK at 55 mph or lower. At highway speeds of 70+ I cannot hear my speakers. There is a lot of exhaust noise and tire noise. I solved the problem by using in-the-ear noise cancelling headphones with an inline amplifier connected directly to my Sirius Radio receiver.
Date published: 2017-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Street Legal GO KART!!! Purchased this in August 2016, as a safer alternative to the Ducati I wanted. The SS has turned out to be everything I need to cruise around and have Man-Time....and is still something the family can enjoy. My son loves it and wants to take it everywhere. My teenage daughter actually wants to "be seen" with her dad in it...and my wife and I like a nice Sunday ride or a quick trip to dinner in it. Been worth EVERY PENNY.
Date published: 2017-04-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sharp but not comfortable Purchased because loved the look and the test drive. However it didnt take long to dislike the hard crunching feeling at my back when going over small bumps. Also did not like the heat build up in the cabin are with no airflow. Even though it was the standard unit I expected greater comfort. With only 300 miles on the unit I traded it in for a CanAm Spyder which addressed the comfort issues.
Date published: 2016-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonderful motorcycle I bought this in May and I am very happy I did. My husband has never ridden a motorcycle and he likes it very much. He had a stroke 4 years ago and he says he is going to drive it soon. I would recommend for anyone to do a trial ride. Everyone I take for a ride they say "I can't quit smiling. They love it and I do also. I purchased this 2 days after I saw it on the road.
Date published: 2016-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very fun to drive! My husband bought this for me 6 months ago and I love it! The only problem I've had is with the music system, whenever I use the high or low beam on the lights my music stops. I'd also like to somehow have air vents somewhere for the leg area as in the summertime it gets really hot, I love it in the winter time as it's your own personal heater!
Date published: 2016-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Decision I Ever Made! I bought "The Beast" in Feb and it's been worth every penny. Don't buy one if you don't want to talk to strangers with questions or if you don't like kids who wigg out when you drive by. The Slingshot is fun to drive, is easy to modify if you want to add features/upgrades, and the other owners are a terrific group. Very happy.
Date published: 2016-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So much fun!!! I bought the Slingshot back in the beginning of February and have already put over 2,300 miles on it. I started with the basic model and added several after market options. The Slingshot turns heads and I get compliments everywhere I go. I am so happy I got it. It is so much fun!!!! I hope you get a chance to enjoy one.
Date published: 2017-04-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fun but wish there was more... Few improvments It's a fun ride but wish there was more noise or umph or power. The list of accessories is nice but it seems like there could still be more. Fun ride. The plastics fit horribly together. I've looked at multiple slingshots and it seems this is a common issue especially with regards to the hood.
Date published: 2016-09-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Slingshot I'm enjoying my slingshot everyday I can the only thing I can complain about the great in the compartment, I bright all the hear shields and it is better but still maybe can be done from factor. Maybe something as simple as extending the muffler so not to as throw all the heat underneath it
Date published: 2016-09-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun ride I bought this in August 2015. I love the ride but it does have some problems. Steering is clunky, heat on passenger side unbearable above a 80 degree day. The hood release should be re engineered as the cables tend to stretch in a short period of time making the hood release inoperable.
Date published: 2016-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Summer Fun I have had so much fun enjoying the weather in this open cockpit vehicle. The novelty and acceleration make it a blast. My only complaints are some cheap details such as the reflectors which are just stuck on with adhesive and have fallen off, and the strange turn signal operation.
Date published: 2016-09-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from my personal Batmobile First laid eyes on one 7 weeks ago.Bought my SS 9 days later. Since then I've put over 4200 kms on it. For the most part, I've been thoroughly pleased. 1 exception, the power steering will fail, on startup only so far, and will reset after several attempts of shutdown and startup.
Date published: 2016-09-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lots of fun Great ride, lots of fun. Comments wherever you go. One issue that needs work. Too much heat in the cockpit. Foot wells and transmission well gets way too hot in the summer. I'm going to add some forced airflow ducts from the nose to try to move the hot air away from those areas.
Date published: 2016-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from VA I was hoping that Maryland would approve the Slingshot too which they did ONE MONTH LATER now I will have to pay taxes agian in two years.Sorry I need to get that off my chest, Now about my Slingshot I TRULY LOVE IT I HAVE BEEN ASKED SO MANY QUESTION ABOUT THE VEHICLE.
Date published: 2016-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from rvspyder Love it but hate the heat from engine area coming thru firewall. Polaris really missed the boat on that area, way to many holes for heat from engine to come in cockpit area. Should have not had to add extra insulation to stop heat problem. Grest ride and handling.
Date published: 2016-09-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not happy with dealership Once I paid for it with the extra warranty. The dealership treated me like I didn't just pay cash. They kept my slingshot for 2 weeks the 1st month I had it. They already knew my model had a problem with the hood closing. Not happy at all after paying 24,000 cash.
Date published: 2016-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome to drive! I got my slingshot for Christmas after I fell in love with "the look" on the showroom floor. Drive it almost daily! I can get a week's worth of groceries in it or 150 pounds of horse food. My slingshot always turns heads and people smile when they see it!
Date published: 2017-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very comforable we bought this end may first June and been very happy with buying experience and the auto cycle as we had a reverse trike top line model was a night mare spend more time in shop then on road this has been so nice no problems and extreme fun to drive
Date published: 2016-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handling Bought it from Cheyenne Borderline Power Sport's. Handling is phenomenal. Throttle is quick as it the shifting. Only recommendation is that the front of the bike could be 2in higher. It would be helpful for intersections with deep dips.
Date published: 2016-09-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2016 slingshot I have had some problems with it . At a100miles I had an oil leck in the rear end. Polairs has put a new one in. I got 2800 miles on it and got a brake light that comes on. Just got home from a 1000 miles trip and it did a good job.
Date published: 2016-09-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not enough power, It could use a small V6 around 250 hp , a lazy after 120 kilometres . The shifting of the transmission is not very smooth unless you are shifting slow. At least that how mine feels . Other than that its a lots of fun to drive.
Date published: 2017-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun to drive! Took for test ride and bought it. If someone is looking for the open road with out the outrageous pricing, then this is for them... I love my Victory but also like to cruise without the worry of darkness only on two wheels...
Date published: 2017-04-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Somewhat satisfied I'm enjoying my slingshot a lot, the only problem is the heat from the catalytic converter. The heat on long rides make the passenger ride miserable. Polaris you are aware of this problem please do something about it .
Date published: 2016-09-21
  • y_2018, m_1, d_18, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_109
  • loc_en_US, sid_T18AASFAAA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_slingshot
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 156ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Back to top TOP